top of page
Search

Going Abroad with Soles4Souls: An Interview With Chloe Gylander

Madison Keatings and Leanna Halabi


Soles4Souls is a non-profit organization dedicated to its initiative of turning unwanted shoes and clothing into an opportunity for individuals in impoverished communities. The organization was founded in 2006 with the mission of fighting poverty by distributing footwear and clothing to those in need. Soles4Souls’ sustainable efforts aid communities facing adversity and play a significant role in disaster relief efforts. In support of Soles4Souls' purpose, Champions of Change held a Halloween Bake Sale on October 31st, 2023, in which all proceeds were donated to the organization. Our executives came together to bake various treats from which we raised $512.02 for the organization.


There are many ways to get involved with the Soles4Souls including donating your unwanted shoes or clothing, which you can do here! Other possible ways to get involved with the organization include participating in a memorable, life-changing volunteer opportunity. One of our wonderful executives, Chloe Gylander, shares her journey volunteering for Soles4Souls including traveling to Honduras with the organization.



How did you first become involved in volunteering with Soles4Souls? What motivated you to get involved with the organization? 


I first became involved with Soles4Souls through my first job as a teenager, at a shoe store called Designer Shoe Warehouse. DSW is partnered with Soles4Souls, providing shoe donation bins for the organization in their stores all across North America. Their partnership also provides the opportunity for selected Canadian DSW staff to be sent to Honduras through Soles4Souls’ travel abroad program. I was nominated by my coworkers for the trip spot and then selected by DSW alongside eleven other individuals to travel to Honduras with Soles4Souls. Since I love traveling, I thought that volunteering in Honduras would be a great opportunity to see more of the world, immerse myself in another culture, and continue pursuing humanitarian work. From a young age, my love for helping others and seeing people smile has inspired me to be involved in humanitarian work. Now that I have had more one-on-one experience with Soles4Souls, I have become very fond of their work as they are very down-to-earth, dedicated, and honest about where their loyalties and motivations come from. 


What tasks and roles did you engage in while volunteering abroad for Soles4Souls?


The main aspect of our work was sorting and giving out shoes for free to three different communities, mostly to children. Additionally, we handed out clothes and toys to the communities, items like toy balls, stickers, and coloring tools for them to play with. We were given a tin shack or tarp shelter to set up in, and we would have some volunteers using a size chart to size the children, and then the next group of volunteers would fit the shoes. From there children could pick out clothes and toys. We also met with the locals and visited local businesses and entrepreneurs in the area. For example, we visited a Jujitsu gym that takes in youth struggling with the law and tries to channel their energy into something more positive and get them off the streets. We also went to a business called The Shoebox in association with Soles4Souls. Shoes that get donated to Soles4Souls for example, through DSW, get sorted by Soles4Souls and eventually brought to small businesses in third-world countries such as The ShoeBox. These small businesses can sell those shoes to help stimulate the local economy, help local entrepreneurs, and give back to the community by providing shoes at a cheap price. We also visited an organization called the Nutrition Center, which helps families who lack education about how to properly care for children, and nurses these children back to health.



What was your experience like volunteering and going abroad for Soles4Souls? What skills/abilities did you develop and/or gain during your time volunteering abroad?


Overall, it was a very positive experience. It got me out of my comfort zone, helped me develop more intrapersonal skills, and networking skills, got me involved in humanitarian work outside of my community, and inspired me to want to learn more Spanish—which I am now doing! It also gave me more of a sense of gratitude.


What is your most memorable experience? Did you have any specific interactions with individuals while abroad that had a profound effect on you?


I had a lot of positive experiences with a broad range of people. I would say the general sense of community and happiness—all of the hugs, smiles, and gratitude really stuck with me. There were so many individuals who would randomly come up to you and hug you. There were so many hugs and smiles despite the fact that they were living on the side of the highway after being hit by Hurricane Fiona. Another experience that really stuck with me was one boy who had arrived at the end of the day when we were all out of shoes. I was so disappointed that we couldn't help him that I gave him the shoes and socks off my feet, I couldn't bear to see him leave without something. The look of gratitude in his eyes when I gave him my shoes was something that will always stick with me. 


For someone interested in volunteering and going abroad with Soles4Souls, what advice would you give them?


I would say don't try to prepare yourself too much, as nothing can prepare you for what you will see and experience. As much as I did try to prepare myself for what I would see, experience, and feel, there is nothing that can really prepare you for the small moments. Be open to the fact that you will experience such a wide variety of emotions, be grateful for what you have, and the experience of being taken to whichever country you travel. There is so much to know about Soles4Souls, I would love for people to look them up, their mission statements, their goals, and the opportunities they have to offer—all of which are online. Just in general I want to encourage people to get out there, volunteer and do something good in the world. 


 

To find out more about Soles4Souls and how to get involved with their organization, click here.


Thank you for reading this blog post! Join us on our journey of advocacy by subscribing to our blog and stay tuned for future posts!


Check out our social media:

Instagram: @plan.ualberta  

Facebook: @championsofchangeYEG


36 views
bottom of page