top of page
Search

Pandemic Perspectives: Healthcare Professionals Pt 1

Updated: Oct 7, 2020

Claire is a COVID-19 Screener

Sid is a Licensed Practical Nurse working in Long-Term Care


Can you explain to us a typical day at work and how the COVID-19 pandemic has affected or shaped this?


Dalya: I screen my patients, set them up for their MRI and scan images. The biggest thing the pandemic has affected is trying to keep distance between myself and my patients. I didn’t realize how close I got to patients daily and I am constantly reminding myself to stand back unless of course I am needed in closer proximity. This in no way affects the patient care ability; but proves that I can provide optimal care while having some restrictions.

Sid: We are screened when we arrive, wear masks and face shields throughout our entire shift and check temperatures of residents twice a day. We have had a few outbreaks where everyone had to stay in their own rooms for days and staff had to don and doff PPE for every room they entered, which was very emotionally difficult for residents and physically and mentally tiring for staff as well as being time consuming.


Claire: The pandemic is actually the reason why I have this position to begin with! So I’m a COVID Screener at one of the hospitals here in Edmonton, and usually a typical day of work would involve me wearing a lot of the necessary PPE (gown, face mask, face shield), screening patients, visitors, and staff, as well as providing a lot of educational teaching on the importance of hand hygiene, social distancing, and continuous mask wearing. I would say that it’s not uncommon for us to have to also work in some de-escalation at least once during the shift, since visitors are often, understandably, very stressed and emotional when they come to the hospital and as such, may not be entirely receptive to the hospital policies in place for COVID-19.


 

Do you have any suggestions for how people deal with COVID-10 emotionally, physically or otherwise?


Claire: I think that in order to keep us safe from COVID-19, as of right now, we should be keen with our hand hygiene, making sure to wash our hands extra clean and avoiding touching our face, eyes, or nose too often! As well, ensuring that we wear our masks properly (over the nose, under the chin, and pinch the wire strip over the bridge!), and social distancing! These really are unprecedented times, as they say, and it’s very natural to feel stressed and overwhelmed - especially when things seem as uncertain as they are! Making sure to connect yourself with your support people when you’re feeling anxious, taking time for yourself, doing self-care activities. These are all things that we can do to help us deal with this pandemic right now!


Dalya: The best thing you can do is keep in contact with your loved ones. This pandemic has prevented us from seeing those closest to us but a quick phone call or text message can make all the difference throughout the day! Keep in mind that this pandemic won’t last forever and we can slowly look forward to restrictions being lifted (hopefully in the near future)


Sid: If you [live] alone maybe see if you can add even one person to your trusted bubble.


 


Have there been any positive moments, realizations or experiences so far that you would like to share?


Sid: Despite there being transmission of COVID to staff, everyone has been excellent at protecting the residents who are most vulnerable.


Claire: As much as there have been frustrations with working as a screener, there have been so many rewarding and positive moments as well! It’s always super nice when visitors are patient with us whenever we have to call up the unit to verify their status as designated visitor, or when we have to call to confirm an exception. I once had someone who had to wait for almost twenty minutes because there had been some issues with getting hold of the unit and charge nurse. I was so stressed, because I was certain that this person was going to be very unhappy and show his displeasure towards having waited for so long, but I was pleasantly (and blissfully) surprised when he just smiled and stood to the side, waiting patiently for me to get ahold of whoever I needed to call. After the whole ordeal, he even thanked me for my patience (funnily enough), and bid me a good day! It’s these small interactions that make the job feel more bearable


Dalya: One positive is the fact that everyone is being more sanitary within the hospital and outside of it. These are precautions that we should definitely keep post COVID-19. It put my mind at ease knowing everything I come in contact with is clean.



 

Stay tuned for part 2 of our Pandemic Perspectives interviews with healthcare professionals.

68 views
bottom of page