top of page
Search

The Impact of COVID-19 on Students

Updated: Jan 8, 2021

Written by: Katie and Neha


This pandemic continues to impact everyone in different ways. There's no doubt about the fact that we are all experiencing major Covid-19 fatigue. Our team wanted to learn more about how COVID-19 has affected students, so we posted some questions & polls on our instagram story to learn more. Even though this is an extremely challenging time for everyone, remember you are not alone during it. Be kind & stay safe!


Below, you'll find the results from our instagram polls!


How has COVID-19 impacted your life as a student?

"It made me more focused."


"At times it is hard to stay motivated and keep up with my lectures and assignments."


"As a science student, the hands on component of labs/research has been changed."


"Adapting to zoom university and staying on top of my coursework."


"It has moved a lot of my classes online and studying from home is often hard."


"I have saved time by not having to take the bus everyday!"


"I have found online learning difficult at the beginning but feel like I am getting the hang of it now."






What has been your biggest challenge?

"Separating my work space from my home space!"


"Sometimes it’s difficult to feel a sense of routine."


"A challenge to feel connected to what I am learning with online schoolwork."


"I’ve really missed seeing my friends in person at school!!"


"Not getting overwhelmed by the massive amount of information."


"Staying engaged; with friends, myself, my ambitions & what I had planned for this year."


"Taking care of myself and not feeling guilty for it."


"Being in a state of uncertainty. I never know what to expect in a few weeks or months."


"Maintaining good mental health and try to stay social in safe ways."


"Not seeing friends."



What is one positive takeaway you have had?

"Everyone is going through a lot so be kind and accommodating is essential."


"I've been able to connect and support my community in new ways."


"Able to spend lots of time with my dog!"


"New creative ways to connect with my friends & family out east."


"Lots of time outside during the spring, summer and fall. I had the greatest sock tan!"


"I've learned how to take care of myself and how to cheer myself up."


"Learned how to crochet during quarantine."


"I value my friends so much more and have maintained strong bonds despite not seeing them in real life."


"I've learned to be more patient with myself and others!"






 

Thank you for reading this blog post! Join us on our journey of advocacy by subscribing to our blog and stay tuned for future posts!


Check out our social media:

Instagram: @plan.ualberta



29 views
bottom of page